35 | Looking For That Job

It’s gotten to the point where I’m tired of searching for a job. Why can’t someone just come up to me and give me one? Why? Why?

I’m (thankfully) in a position where I don’t have to worry about money because I still live with my parents. Obviously I would like to move out and experience everything for myself, but in order to do that I need money, and in order to have money I need to have a job. My parents don’t mind that I still live at home, and have said that I should only move out when I’m in the position to (love them). Unfortunately I know a few people whose parents do not have this attitude.

Because of this position I may not be applying to ALL the jobs I possibly could be. I’m still going for the ones within the arts-ish area. If I’m going to be applying for my first proper adult job, I want it to be something that I enjoy. My family had been telling me to apply for a job where my aunty works – at an insurance broker. That’s all well and good if you’re into that kind of thing, but I’m really not. And even though she was telling me that most young people work for a year and then leave to do something else, that wouldn’t be me. It took me a year to leave my previous job, so knowing that I would end up in insurance forever.

I was before, but I’m no longer going for anything in retail – I would never leave otherwise. I know that most people only work retail as an inbetween job, but I have such limited retail experience no one would look at me. Especially considering I’m 22, which means they’d have to pay me more.

I’ve been doing quite well with the apply-to-at-least-one-job-a-day thing. I’m going to keep this up. I’ve found that you get more interviews if you apply to more jobs. Funny that.

Leave a Reply

