44 | What Is An Adult?

According to the law, you’re an adult once you turn 18.

When I turned 18 I had just finished high school and was soon to be heading to university. I was still shy and found it difficult introducing myself to new people. I couldn’t drive, nor had I ever voted.

Now 4 years later all of that has changed, but I still don’t feel like an adult. I know that this is partly due to the fact that I am yet to find my first ‘grown-up’ job and I’m still living at home. However, most of my friends are in the same situation I’m in (the whole job and living at home thing), but I see them as fully functioning adults.

Looking around, other 22 year olds have no problem being ‘adults’, but I find myself wondering what I’m doing wrong. I was just bumming around on the internet today (as one does), and found a photo album of a 22 year old who built his own house. What. I’m barely capable of building insert-easy-to-build-thing here. Which brings me on to another thing. I know so many people from school who are already married, have children (that’s children, plural), a house. Again, what. Looking after myself is a struggle enough, I can’t imagine how they’re already looking after babies.

You that saying that everyone has to grow old, but that doesn’t mean you have to grow up? I feel as though everyone is acting like they’re ‘grown up’ a lot better than me. When will I start feeling like an adult?

2 thoughts on “44 | What Is An Adult?

  1. Lucas J. Draeger says:

    I’ll let you in on a secret that took me a good thirty-seven years to discover: There are no adults. Each of us is simply guessing most of the time. It seems that some of us develop an aptitude here and there that gives us the appearance of adultness (like the 22 year old house builder), but it seems the aptitude is rarely exactly where we’d most like it to be.
    Bless you on your perpetual journey, dear lady!

    Like

Leave a Reply

