48 | Unlocking the Mind!

This is my Day 1 piece for Writing 101. I know it’s a couple of days late, but oh well! So, Easter is over and not much happened. I mean, a lot of eating, drinking and laughing happened, but apart from that not much.

I somehow ended up going to a comedy show though? On Sunday, after an absolutely giant lunch, my cousins, sister and I decided to go into the city just to bum around and see what there was to do. The Melbourne Comedy Festival is currently on, so we thought we’d see if any shows were on. There was, and we saw it. We ended up seeing Arj Barker. I’ve seen a couple of his shows on the internet before, but I’ve never been to a comedy show in real life. I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy it, because I wasn’t really in the mood (it was cold and windy, and that tends to put a damper on anyone’s spirits), but I actually had a really good time.

And now I’m just sitting here looking up who to see next. We were looking at Nina Conti, but we managed to miss her show by that much. I might take my brother and sister to see her, because why not ya know!

My sister and I are now trying to put together an art zine. She’s really good at drawing and art and that sort of stuff, so again, why now ya know! It’s going to end up really hipstery kind of art, but that’s always fun, and isn’t art about expressing yourself anyway? I might do some writing in it, who knows. The only thing is that the kind of writing that would suit that kind of style is poetry, which I absolutely cannot write.

There’s something about poetry that I don’t understand. I’ve never really liked it. I know that all books are forms of poetry, but actual written poetry in stanzas and all that I really don’t like. I’m going to put this down to having to study it so intensely in school. You know how when you’re in school and you have to study a certain book, and then for the rest of your life you absolutely cannot stand that book because you had to read it over and over again? It’s like that, but with all poetry.

There’s a book called ‘The Road’ by Cormac McCarthy that’s written like this. I’d bought it after having read the synopsis and thought ‘yeah, that sounds good’. Little did I know, it would be one of the hardest books I’ve ever read. Dun dun dun! I really struggled with it, purely because I found the poetry so difficult to read.

I’m going to stop talking about poetry now. I read my first bit of Poe the other day. Penguin have released really little books with short stories for $2, and I bought myself one called ‘The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe. There are other stories in it as well, but that’s the only one that I’ve read so far. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to read some of his stuff, but I really enjoyed his writing style and even though the story was only a 8 pages long, I found myself really engrossed in it and disappointed that it had finished.

Speaking of short stories, by collection of graphic novels is slowly but surely growing. How exciting! I think I may have mentioned this before, but when I begin to like something, I really really like it. I was really into stamp collecting at one point, so now I have a large volume with stamps from all over the world. When I was younger I suddenly decided that I would collect crystals, so now I have two crystals on my bookshelf (that was one of the shorter lived obsessions). I’ve always liked collecting books, and I’ve always had them around me. And now that I have space to collect them, I will!

In England I lived in the smallest room in the house. My room was the length of my single bed, and about 1.5 times the width. Really teeny tiny. But, that was the norm for where I lived. Terraced houses were just a part of the town that I lived in, and whenever I visited any of my friends houses I would be absolutely amazed at the amount of space they had! Anywho, this tiny room meant that my collection was always small. I mean it still is small, but now at least I have the freedom if I so wanted to expand.

I honestly don’t know what I’m rambling about, and it’s only been 14 minutes. I may just stop here because who knows what else will come out if I continue. I also noticed that this is a rather large piece… See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “48 | Unlocking the Mind!

Leave a Reply

