53 | Walking Through Melbourne

This morning I was somehow 2 hours early for my job. Since it was 7.50am, nothing was really open and the city was still waking up. Seeing as I didn’t really have anything to do, I decided to see how far I could walk in two hours. It turns out that I can walk from Carlton to Flinders Street and back. Then stop for a coffee and pastry on Lygon Street on the way. About 5kms according to Google, so not that far at all.

It was really nice seeing Melbourne that early in the morning. I’ve never really had a reason to be in the city, so I’ve never had the chance to see it wake up. This was before all the business people arrived, so there was lots of food delivery going on – on a strip of Vietnamese, Chinese, Indonesian etc. restaurants, they all had big bags of bean sprouts leaning on their front doors. There were also lots of school children and tourists. So many tourists.

Another thing there was many of was homeless people. If you go to the city during the day you don’t really see these people, but in the morning they were around every corner. This was quite shocking to me because, again, I’ve never seen this side of Melbourne.

Melbourne has a reputation for being one of the world’s most liveable cities, but what about to those who have nowhere to live? Winter has just started and you can definitely feel it already. Today was one of those days where it starts foggy and cold, and then just remains bitter until sundown. Not ideal weather for living on the streets. I mean, no weather is really ideal for living on the streets, but you know what I mean.

I don’t really have a conclusion to this, so I’ll just sum up: girl goes for walk and is shocked by life. Where do all these people go during the day? Why is this something I’ve never thought about before?

Leave a Reply

