54| Where I’d Rather Be

So, I haven’t written anything in a while. Somehow I managed to find a job. I know. What? Me? A job? No! Anyway, that’s where I’ve been these past couple of months.

Now, this is a really nice job. The people who I work with are great, I’m not doing exactly the same thing all day everyday, and the clients are (mostly) lovely. The thing about it though, is that it’s not what I want. I’ll be staying here for a while, just to earn more experience, and save some money and things like that, but I can’t see myself staying here for more than a year.

Doing a film degree, and now working in admin has made me start to realise where I want to be. I want to be making things. I want to be working with other people who are also making things, and then we can make things together. I’ve started thinking of ways I could make little videos in my lunch break, but so far I can’t seem to find a way that wouldn’t be embarrassing – I have to wear super corporate clothing and how often do you see a corporately dressed person holding a camera?

That’s another thing as well, I have to stop being afraid of liking the things I do. Ultimately, film is where I want to be, so I need to take charge of my future and all that jazz.

Speaking of film, you should listen to the podcast I do with my friend. It’s called Can We Talk Film, and we talk about films. We’re up to our 11th episode, and so far I think it’s rather good! You can find us here on WordPress, or on Soundcloud.

Anyway, I should be back soon! Now that I’ve gotten into the swing of work life, I can go back to our regular broadcast.

Leave a comment